Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Converting Mata matrix to Stata variables without losing variable names

Dear Statalist, I am long time reader, first time poster. I thank everyone for their previous contributions that have solved many a problem of mine.

I am new to Mata and am currently using it to store the results of a simulation model. I am using Mata because it is fast, and only to store data, not for any matrix algebra.

I finish with a Mata matrix mSum which I combine with a matrix of variable names cmSum using the _matrix_list command (another tip from someone on Statalist - thanks!)

Code:
    mata: _matrix_list(mSum, rmSum, cmSum)
    I can convert this matrix mSum into Stata variables by first converting to a Stata matrix and then using svmat.

Code:
    mata: st_matrix("stSum", mSum)
    My problem is I lose all of the variable names that I have stored in Mata matrix cmSum.

Does anyone know if there is a way for me to convert mSum to Stata variables and use cmSum as the variable names?

I realise the solution may be don't use Mata in the first place and maybe at some point I'll figure out a more efficient method of storing and reading lots of large different sets of data without saving and loading datasets.

Thanks,
    Adam

Originally posted by Adam Irving View Post
    Does anyone know if there is a way for me to convert mSum to Stata variables and use cmSum as the variable names?
    Couldn't you just use the Mata functions st_addvar() in conjunction with st_store() and do both in one fell swoop?

Perhaps something like the following (all called from within Mata).
    Code:
    st_addobs(rows(mSum))
    st_store(., st_addvar("double", cmSum), mSum)
    That first line of code is required only if you don't have sufficient observations already in the Stata dataset to accommodate the rows of the Mata numerical matrix.