No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Merge Mata matrix with Stata data file

Hi!

I know that this question has already been published but the solution is not actually what I am looking for.
    I am a beginner user of Stata and I have a data set with patients information and Mata matrix with population survival probabilities. The mata matrix is stratified by sex, age and calendar year:

| sex _year _age survprob | |-------------------------------| | 1 2000 50 .99376 | | 1 2000 51 .99318 | | 2 2000 50 .99751 | | 2 2000 51 .99744 |

I am looking for either:

1. Save the mata matrix of population mortality rates as .dta file which I can merge m1 with patients data file aftrewords OR

2. Merge mata matrix with .dta file by sex,age and calendar year.

I am grateful for any advice.

Thank you very mych in advance.

Regards,
    Yuliya

Perhaps this sample technique will start you in a useful direction to save your Mata matrix as a Stata dataset that you can then merge with the patients dataset.
    Code:
    . mata:
    ------------------------------------------------- mata (type end to exit) ----------------------
    : sp
                     1             2             3             4
        +---------------------------------------------------------+
      1 |            1          2000            50   .9937599897  |
      2 |            1          2000            51   .9931799769  |
      3 |            2          2000            50    .997510016  |
      4 |            2          2000            51   .9974399805  |
        +---------------------------------------------------------+

: st_dropvar(.)

: st_addvar("int",("sex" , "year" , "age"))
           1   2   3
        +-------------+
      1 |  1   2   3  |
        +-------------+

: st_addvar("float", "survprob")

: st_addobs(rows(sp))

: st_store(.,.,sp)

: end
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

. list