snapshot save goes on to "saves [the snapshot] to disk and restores from disk copies of the data in memory" (from the PDF manual). Was wondering "where" that save to disk takes place? Background (albeit any discussion if this is sensible or not) is: if I have a file in memory that contains sensitive data such as patient names, I can do some data safety stuff by e.g. loading that *.dta file only from a secure source; when I close Stata, I am (pretty) sure no trace is left in file form anywhere outside the original secure source. When creating snapshots though, where do they get saved to? Are they "really" deleted on closing Stata...
Cheers
Cheers

Comment