Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rank-ordered latent class model (x-post from Reddit)

I'm not the person who asked the question. But this post from Reddit is interesting.

Hi everyone,

I'm an economics PhD student, I'm looking for help to estimate an ordered latent-class model.

My dependent variable is a ranking carried out by respondents to a survey; they had to rank 4 items in a necessary descending order of preference (Chapman and Staelin, 82). But I think I think there's some heterogeneity in ranking capabilities. I found 2 papers that discuss about this issue and they advice to estimate a Latent-class rank-ordered model.
    In latent class analysis, the latent class is an un-ordered categorical latent variable. If you looked through the LCA manual and saw a bunch of stuff about multinomial models and you wondered what that had to do with anything, that's why.

I believe that the poster was asking about estimating an ordered categorical latent variable model. Possibly an interesting question, I think I've heard these mentioned before. But there is no way to fit these models in Stata. I have no idea what software can fit them, but there is literature referencing them.

As an alternative, I would propose that the OP fit a latent class model. That's right, just treat the classes as un-ordered.