Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DiD with heterogenous treatmens where the treatment switch on and off with leads and lags

Hello,

Before I explain my issues I want to informyou that I cannot share my data due to confidentiality reasons.

For my master's thesis I'm studying if the physicians as operation managers affect the turnover rate of physicians at primary care centers (PCCs) with the usage of a balanced panel dataset with the years 2010-2018 (yearly format) and 316 PCCs. PCCs are treated when they have a physician manager and is untreated otherwise. 30 PCCs will be treated, 15 out of those will switch out of treatment and 2 of those will get a second treatment. No PCC starts treated and we have no time gaps.

Our idea is to perform a DiD with heterogenous treatmens where the treatment is allowed to switch on and off with leads and lags so we create an event study graph. I have tried to acquire as much information as possible but I have som questions regarding this:

1. In this thread Clyde Schechter states that the code I'm using below should be able to handle heterogenous DiD with reversal of treatment: https://www.statalist.org/forums/for...hed-on-and-off

Code:
     xtreg physician_turnover i.year##i.treatment $covariates, fe VCE(cluster PCC_ID)
    However, I have a hard time to find a paper to cite that confirms which leads to my first question. Every paper I read seems to assume that treated subjects should remain treated (for example "Differences in Differences with variation in treatment timing" Goodman Bacon (2021)). Are there any papers you know on top of your head that I could cite for this?

2. My second question is if I can add leads and lags by using the code below?:

Code:
     xtreg physician_turnover $leads $lags i.year##i.treatment $covariates, fe VCE(cluster PCC_ID)