Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• summing numbers from a field that has both text and numbers

I have a data fields with value options "unknown", 1,2,3,4,5,6, or "more than 6". I'd like to sum the numeric value, replacing "unknown" with 0, and "more than 6" with 7.
    I thought I could assign values to numeric variables based on the data field values but just can't get the engine to start.
    I've tried several things, for example, if one of the data fields is field_a
    generate field_a_temp = 0
    replace field_a_temp = 7 if (field_a == "more than 6")
    and I get a type mismatch error. Same with generate field_a_temp = "", or generate field_a_temp = .

I am a beginner. Thanks for any guidance.

Code:
    gen field_a_temp = field_a
    replace field_a_temp = "0" if field_a_temp == "unknown"
    replace field_a_temp = "7" if field_a_temp == "more than 6"
    destring field_a_temp, replace
    will give you a numeric variable field_a_temp that you can do arithmetic with. You were on the right track, but you can't set a string variable equal to a number. You have to set it equal to a string that looks like that number--hence the quotes around "0" and "7" in the code above. Then you can destring the whole thing and you're home.

That said, in most contexts, replacing more than 6 with 7 would be questionable, and replacing unknown with 0 rather specious. But maybe that's reasonable in your context.
    Last edited by Clyde Schechter; 25 Oct 2021, 19:38.

Comment

Thanks very much for your rapid reply!

Thanks very much! I agree with your comment, the substitutions I'm using are statistically grating, but they are reasonable here.

I tried your suggestion and now have a new hitch

More context:
      Stata 14, Win X64
      The .dta file is a dump from a SQL database I don't have access to
      Variable name: dup_collagtx, type: byte, Format: %11.0g