No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding mean value of a column based on year

Hi,

I am a newbie with STATA and working with it for my thesis. So, I have a dataset of companies from 2000-2019 with their information such as (industry codes, debt, equity, assets, etc.).

Now, I have grouped the companies based on the SIC codes to find out the number of companies in each industry.

I am having a problem in 2 areas:

1. I want to find the mean value of debt in every industry.
    2. I want to find the mean value of debt for every year for the whole sample

How can I go about doing these?

egen tocount = tag(c_id SIC_ID) (This is what I have for now to count for companies within a specific SIC code).

Thanks in advance!

The command
    Code:
    egen debtbyindustry = mean(debt), by(sic)
    will give you the mean debt by sick industry
    Code:
    egen debtbyyear = mean(debt), by(year)
    will give you mean debt by year, and

Code:
    egen debtbyindsutryyear = mean(debt), by(sic year)
    will give you the mean by the cells formed by the combinations of industry and year.

Comment

Thanks Joro! I did use your formulas and it worked. I now have another query - hoping you can help in this one too.

So I am first creating a variable meanPEby firm = mean(PE), by(c_id)... c_id has the name of all the unique companies in the dataset.

The next step is to divide this into 3 sub-sets... low, medium, and high.. I am calculating the centiles for (33), (67), and (100).. Then, I am recoding PE by using these centile values..

Theoretically, all the 3 sub-sets should be equal in firm size but it is not the case.. Can you understand the problem? What is it that I am doing wrong?

My current code for this problem is:

egen PEbyfirm = mean(PE), by(c_id)
      centile (PEbyfirm), c(33)
      centile (PEbyfirm), c(67)
      centile (PEbyfirm), c(100)
      recode PE (0/19.84421=1) (19.84422/29.15539=2) (29.15540/432.3908=3), gen (PE_ID)
      tab PE_ID