Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the T-Test in ARDL ECM used for?

Hi,

I am new to using STATA. For my Bachelors thesis I am analyzing the effect of income, own price and price in another destination on the demand for tourism. In my literature, only the F-statistic of the bounds test is used to determine wether there is cointegration. So i am wondering what the t-statistic is used for and if I have to use it.

The bounds test t-statistic tests whether the speed-of-adjustment coefficient equals zero (null hypothesis) or less than zero (alternative hypothesis). We cannot use the conventional critical values and p-values directly reported in the regression output due to the nonstationarity of the data under the null hypothesis.

For the existence of a long-run relationship, it is a necessary requirement that this speed-of-adjustment coefficient is less than zero. The F-statistic jointly tests for insignificance of this speed-of-adjustment coefficient and the coefficients of the regressors in the assumed long-run relationship. Thus, a rejection of the F-statistic could mean that the latter coefficients are nonzero, while the speed-of-adjustment coefficient could still be zero. To rule out this special case, we also need to look at the t-statistic.

More information:
    https://twitter.com/Kripfganz

Comment

In Kripfganz and Schneider (2018), both the long-run and the short-run coefficients of the ARDL model are estimated in a single step though the unrestricted EC model. In this (single-step) estimation approach, the speed of convergence is given by the long-run coefficient of the first lag of the dependent variable. As explicitly stated by the authors in page 18, there is statistical evidence for the existence of a long-run relationship only if all the following conditions are met:
      1. A successful bounds F-test has been conducted.
      2. A successful bounds t-test has been conducted.