No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Export output of levelsof

Hi Statalists!

This will be my first posts, but I have been lurking around this forum for a while looking at answers provided to questions similar to ones I have had about Stata.
    Currently I am working with a dataset with a large number of stock trading observations. After having cleaned up part of the data I now wish to extract all the unique cusip id's (= a string variable). Using: levelsof cusip, clean Stata shows the unique values I wish to export. However when trying to get Stata to export this into an excel file via putexcel (A1) = (levelsof cusip, clean) is gives an error saying levelsof not found. I suspect that this means that it it not possible to export the results of levelsof via this method but am not sure as I am still quite new to Stata. I hope someone here is able to help me export the unique id's and enlarge my understanding of Stata.

Kind regards,

Pim

Hi Pim
    Try the following:
    Code:
    levelsof cusip, matrow(cusid)
    putexcel (a1)=cusid
    This way levelsof stores unique variables in a matrix that can then be exported to excel.
    HTH
    Fernando

Comment

Fernando Rios gives excellent advice, but for "unique variables" read "distinct values".

Comment

Hi FernandoRios,
        Thank you for your swift reply, and Nick for your comment. Unfortunately using matrow with cusip is not an option as my cusip variable is a string variable. Converting it without loss of data is not possible as it contains nonnumeric data. In order to later match the cusip values with option prices I need to have the exact match. I do not need to export it to excel perse. I can also just store it as a text file with all the distinct value's of cusip on seperate rows. I know there must be a way to do so instead of copying it manually from the output Stata gives in the result screen.

Comment

Code:
          frame put cusip, into(Excel)