No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Known groups in LCA

Hi all,

I am still quite new to this so maybe it is just a simple problem. I am using Stata 16 at a mac.

I have done an LCA with 6 variables and 3 classes.
    Code:
     gsem (ancestry culture lang  jobs pride civic  <-), logit lclass(C 3),
    I now try to do the same thing but testing the results over different regions. I keep receiving the error message
    Code:
    quietly gsem (ancestry culture lang  jobs pride civic  <-), over(land) logit lclass(C > 3)
    option over() not allowed
    r(198);
    Where am I supposed to ad the categorical variable here? What am I doing wrong here?

All help is very appreciated!
    Last edited by David Isaksson; 28 Mar 2020, 09:53.

Subjectively, it seems to me like there are a bunch of people who are on lockdown and are turning to LCA, perhaps to relieve boredom? But this could be surveillance bias on my part.

More seriously, define "testing the results over different regions." I assume you mean that you want to see if the coefficients vary over different regions? If that's it, you actually wanted the group option; there's no over option in gsem. However, you will need to tell Stata which parameters are allowed to vary over groups, as defined in the manual here. If this is what you actually want, then I believe that as per this post, you'd want to allow the constants to vary. The default is that constants, coefficients, and loading parameters are constrained equal. I think that in this context, the constants are the class-specific response probabilities to each item, e.g. the probability of endorsing ancestry in each of the 3 latent classes. So, if I'm right, you'd type this:

Code:
    gsem (ancestry culture lang jobs pride civic <-), group(land) ginvariant(coef loading) logit lclass(C > 3)
    Then, you should be able to inspect the parameters by each group.