Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Differentiating between different types of farmers - how can I find out exactly how many?

Hi Statalist!

I was wondering if anyone could help me, I am new to Statalist and I can’t seem to find the answers I am looking for.

I have survey data at the individual level and I would like to differentiate between coffee farmers and maize farmers.
    Some farmers are engaged in more than one type of farming (e.g. coffee, bananas and potatoes) and thats okay as long as a farmer is not engaged in both coffee AND maize farming.
    I would like to separate the effects/ identify differences of being a coffee farmer vs being a maize farmer.

I have 8 variables that describe up to 8 different crops that a farmer grows (firstcrop, secondcrop, thirdcrop, fourthcrop etc) and these variables can take values up to 50 different numbers.
    For example:
    iid
    firstcrop
    secondcrop
    thirdcrop
    fourthcrop
    fifthcrop
    sixthcrop
    seventhcrop
    eighthcrop
    01 01 24 19 40 - - - -
    02 17 01 - - - - - -
    03 19 02 - - - - - -
    So the first farmer (with iid 1) grows coffee (01) as their first crop, rice (24) as their second crop, maize (19) as their third crop and pineapples (40) as their fourth.
    The second farmer grows sweet potatoes (17) as their first crop and coffee (01) as their second crop.
    The third farmer grows maize (19) as their first crop and tea (02) as their second crop.

So what I would like to do is:

I would like to find out:
    1. How many farmers grow coffee but do not grow maize at all (so how many farmers are like the second farmer in the table above)
    1. How many farmers grow maize but do not grow coffee at all (so how many farmers are like the third farmer in the table above)
    1. And then how many farmers grow both coffee and maize (so how many farmers are like the first farmer in the table above)