No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• stata command unrecognized r(199) error

Hello,
    I am trying to run the Stata code below, and everything runs except at the very end I am getting 'the command i unrecognized r(199) error'. How can I avoid this error? I am new to Stata and I am not so sure. I have attached the pharmacy_small.dta file with this post so that you can run the code on your computer.

STATA CODE:

clear

//import the pharmacy_small Stata dataset
    use pharmacy_small

// change the the variables store_type, area, and compliance into binary categorical variables with 0's and 1's
    generate chain = store_type == "CHAIN"
    generate north = area == "North"

// numericize all the string categorical variables while retaining the same label
    encode county, generate(county_num)

python:

# install sklearn, sfi, numpy, and pandas packages first
    # make sure to install them first!
    from sklearn.naive_bayes import MultinomialNB
    from sklearn.model_selection import GridSearchCV
    from sklearn.model_selection import train_test_split
    from sklearn import metrics # import scikit-learn metrics module for accuracy calculation
    from sfi import Data
    import numpy as np
    import pandas as pd

# Use the sfi Data class to pull data from Stata variables
    X = pd.DataFrame(Data.get("educate north county_num chain"),
    columns = ['educate', 'north', 'county_num', 'chain'])

Y = pd.DataFrame(Data.get("compliance"), columns = ['compliance'])

# split the pharmacy_small dataset into a training and a test set using the python commands
    # splitting data into a test and training set is much easier in Python than in Stata (takes 1 line)
    # 'test_size = 0.25' tells Python that we want to reserve 25% of our data for the test set
    # train_test_split() will automatically shuffle the data before the split
    X_train, X_test, Y_train, Y_test = train_test_split(X, Y, test_size = 0.25)

end

clear

gen Alpha = .