Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to create dummy variables for day of the week, day of the month etc.

Hello, I am fairly new at using stata, thus since I want to control for time varying influences (my time series data set consista of daily data) I want to create binary variables for day of the week, day of the month and month of the year, however I am having trouble understanding how to do this. I tried by first creating a day of the week variable with stata, and then using the following code to create day of the week dummies: tab dow, gen (d) and I ended up with seven dummy variables and not six, is that correct? Are there other methods of doing it? I'd also like to know how to do it for day of the month, month of the year and for holidays. I am a beginner with stata, thus any help would be highly appreciated.

Welcome to the Stata Forum/ Statalist.

You may wish to read this thread.
    Best regards,

Marcos

Comment

Welcome to Statalist.

I think you may need to learn about Stata's factor variable notation, which saves you from needing to create dummy variables. Here is a quick example using the auto dataset included with Stata.
      Code:
      . sysuse auto, clear
      (1978 Automobile Data)

. list make foreign i.foreign in 51/55, nolabel

+---------------------------------------------+
           |                                 0.        1.|
           | make            foreign   foreign   foreign |
           |---------------------------------------------|
       51. | Pont. Phoenix         0         1         0 |
       52. | Pont. Sunbird         0         1         0 |
       53. | Audi 5000             1         0         1 |
       54. | Audi Fox              1         0         1 |
       55. | BMW 320i              1         0         1 |
           +---------------------------------------------+

. regress mpg weight i.foreign