No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two-level Logistic Regression with Complex Survey Design - Query

Hello,

I am relatively new to Stata (and Multilevel Modelling more broadly), and would be grateful for some support. My question is regarding running a 2-level logistic regression.

More specifically, I am trying to run a 2-level logistic regression taking into account Complex Survey Design, but I'm not quite sure if my Stata code is correct. I have chosen to run a 2-level logistic regression (i.e. using -
    melogit- because I cannot use -svyset- with -xtlogit-). Please note, I am using Stata 15.1.

My data is 2-level in that it reflects multiple observations over time (2009-2018) nested within an individual (identified by the pidp variable in the code below). My dependent variable, empstatus, is coded as 1=employed and 0=unemployed. My dataset comprises of approximately 160,000 observations.

I have gone through a variety of material including the Stata Manual, and Rabeā€Hesketh, S., & Skrondal, A. (2006). Multilevel modelling of complex survey data. Journal of the Royal Statistical Society: Series A (Statistics in Society), 169(4), 805-827, but haven't always fully understood them. Particularly when there is a discussion around needing to have weights at both levels.

I have also looked at previous questions raised, but haven't managed to find advice on a specific way to get Stata to run the model I want. I have found advice on applying weights in a multilevel logit model, for example through the following code,
    Code:
    melogit empstatus i.gender age i.race[pweight=h_indinui_lw] || pidp: , allbase
    However, unless I am mistaken such code doesn't also take into account clustering and stratification (identified through my strata' and psu variables in the code below) which is what I would like to do.