No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Creating a new string variable conditioned on multiple other variables

Hello,

I am relatively new to Stata and I am confused at how to approach problem. I read through gen, egen, and what I could find that seemed relevant in the forloops help guide. This may be a case of misunderstanding loops or not searching the correct terms used in Stata. Also, please forgive me for not using dataex as this dataset and question would contain PHI.

I have recreated the example substituting names in the data that are of equivalent type but are not PHI.
    1. I have a numeric ID variable "ID" that has multiple of the same value within the column. This is not the primary identifier in the dataset and I am assuming this is a reason for why it has multiples of the same value.
    2. I have a string variable indicating the round of visit, i.e. Round 1, Round 1.2, Round 2 where each round represents some specific activity.
    3. I have a randomization status variable (string) that represents what the random assignment was, i.e. Group 1 or Group 2.
    4. The dataset was given to me as "complete" and so at this point I do not have the option of going back to look at potential flaws from the merges of separate spreadsheet files.
    The issue is that the randomization status was only listed for "Round 1" of the respective ID values. I cannot simply list and type in values because there are too many unique ID values. Also that is more error prone.

Example (have):
    ID Round (string) Randomization
    1 Round 1 Group 1
    2 Round 1 Group 2
    3 Round 1 Group 1
    1 Round 1.2
    2 Round 1.2
    3 Round 1.2
    1 Round 2
    2 Round 2
    3 Round 2