Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help on Thesis : Migrant wage gap Data Analysis.

Hi,

My thesis is on assessing the impact of nationality on workers earnings in UK. I have downloaded the household survey and earnings (7yrs) and tried sorting the data however I had a great difficulty in merging my data into a single dataset on Stata.

Seeing, i wasn't making any headway, i tried it on Excel using conditional formatting. The issue now is that, I seem to have an unbalanced panel data in which an individual observation appears for 2yrs at least or more but not in all the 7 years.

My question ;

1. Can i go ahead and work with this dataset i currently have
    2. How do i run a regression on it

​​​​​​3. What are the important things i need to do on Stata for analysis my data.

I would appreciate if you can please give me a proper guideline because I'm really confused.

I'm new to stata and to research.

Sorry for the long post. I appreciate a quick response

Thanks
    ​​

For assembling your dataset, you should probably have a look at append rather than merge.: https://www.stata.com/manuals13/dappend.pdf

Your type of data is panel data and likely is best analyzed with panel data methods. A good intro into how to do so in Stata is: https://www.princeton.edu/~otorres/Panel101.pdf
    Many more such lecture slides can be found online.
    Some more technical details and further examples can be found in Stata's manual for xtreg: https://www.stata.com/manuals13/xtxtreg.pdf

Comment

Originally posted by Jorrit Gosens View Post
      For assembling your dataset, you should probably have a look at append rather than merge.: https://www.stata.com/manuals13/dappend.pdf

Your type of data is panel data and likely is best analyzed with panel data methods. A good intro into how to do so in Stata is: https://www.princeton.edu/~otorres/Panel101.pdf
      Many more such lecture slides can be found online.