No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Error last estimates not found.

Hello
    I am trying to run a regression among 220 firms from 1998-2018 to predict a yearly beta value. However, when I try to run the code I first get the error no observations due to not all firms having observations every year due to bankruptcies and so on. Then when I try to suppress this error using capture, which is a function I have never used before, I get the error "last estimates not found". Can someone explain to me where this error arises and possibly suggest an improvement to my current code? My current code looks like this:

Code:
    forvalues i=1/220 {
    forvalues j=1998/2018 {
    capture reg ret ewretd if fakeID==`i' & estimationwindow==1 & fyear == `j'
    predict R_hat_`i' if fakeID==`i' & eventwindow==1 & fyear == `j', xb
    replace R_hat = R_hat_`i' if fakeID==`i' & fyear == `j'
    drop R_hat_`i'
    replace sigmahat=e(rmse) if fakeID==`i' & tau==0 & fyear == `j'
    }
    }
    Thanks in advance.

The problem is that you used -capture- and then disregarded the result. -capture- allowed the do-file to continue running even though the regression itself failed due to no observations. But if there are no observations, then there are no coefficient estimates posted and -predict- has nothing to work with. Moral of the story: when you use -capture- to permit your program to continue on in the case of predictable, anticipated errors, you must nevertheless determine when that has happened, and, then guard the rest of the code from trying to use results that in fact don't exist. So try it like this:

Code:
    forvalues i=1/220 {
        forvalues j=1998/2018 {
            capture reg ret ewretd if fakeID==`i' & estimationwindow==1 & fyear == `j'
            if c(rc) == 0 {    // SUCCESSFUL REGRESSION, CALCULATE R_hat
                predict R_hat_`i' if fakeID==`i' & eventwindow==1 & fyear == `j', xb