Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nested foreach and forvalue for fixed effect analysis (using xtreg), with saving outputs

Hi,

I am completely new to STATALIST, STATA and some "decent" econometrics, in general. Therefore, please apologise in advance for my ignorance. I couldn't find the answer to what I am struggling with, even though I did find some parts that are in a way related. I believe that following is closest to my question:

https://www.statalist.org/forums/for...on-with-output

What I am doing is a natural experiment on changes in proximity of firms to banks/branches, analysing if it has influenced their business outcomes. I have an unbalanced panel of roughly 15,000 firms for 9 years (2010 to 2018). It is paired with an unbalanced panel of roughly 470 branches, but that part only mattered for distance calculating (getting the values of independent variables). My main variables of interest as “measures of proximity” are: (i) distance to closest branch in terms of km, (ii) distance to closest branch in terms of min, (iii) number of branches within a 10-km radius, (iv) number of branches within a 30-min travel distance, (v) number of branches within a 5-km radius, (iv) number of branches within a 15-min travel distance, etc. In total, I have 8 such variables, 2 of which are floats, and 6 integers. I will refer to those as: x_1, x_2, .. x_8. Since I want to do a multiple regression analysis, I have squared each of those, so I technically have 16 independent variables, making 8 pairs and in each unique regression I want to regress my dependent variable on 1 pair (e.g. x_1, sq_x_1).

I have 20 dependent variables of interest, each of which indicates what I could potentially observe as a firm’s outcome (revenues, profits, number of effective employees…). Each of those is a float. I will refer to those as: y_1, y_2, …, y_20.