Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with converting dates from fractional/decimal form to recognized form in Stata

Hey everyone,

I'm a student who needs help with this particular problem. I have in my Stata dataset a variable that is shown in fractional/decimal form to represent the date of birth of participants. I'm trying to convert them to an appropriate date variable that Stata can recognize, but for the life of me I have no clue on how to do so or where to start. The help file has everything on dates except in this way so I'm hoping to get any help that I can from here.

I have figured out how the decimal form was calculated, but do not know where to go from there, or how to compute this through Stata in the first place. I have been provided with an example, id #1 was born on 71.514 and it corresponds to 7th July 1971. Let us assume the year has 365.25 days, accounting for the leap year every 4 years.

Any help that I can get from this is very much appreciated!

So, recall that a Stata internal format date variable is the number of days since 1jan1960. The year of your date is 1900 + the integer part. So, for example, just 71 would correspond to 1jan1971, which can be gotten as -mdy(1, 1, 1900+71)-. Then there is the fractional part, which can be multiplied by 365.25 to give the number of days into that year. So it boils down to being able to pull the integer and fractional parts out of the numbers. That's where the -floor()- and -mod()- functions come in.

Code:
    * Example generated by -dataex-. To install: ssc install dataex
    clear
    input float strange_date
    end

gen stata_date = floor(mdy(1, 1, 1900+floor(strange_date)) + 365.25*mod(strange_date, 1))
    format stata_date %td
    list