No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Counting observations over duplicate dates

Hi all,

I'm an economics student in college, doing my best to learn STATA. I've browsed the forum and googled everything I could, it took me too long to realize I should just ask. I'm not extremely well versed in STATA, but I know my way around. I feel what I'm trying to do is pretty basic, so hopefully any help I receive will seem familiar to me.

In short I'm working towards doing an interrupted time series with a speed limit increase and crash data. My main objective right now is counting the number of crashes that occurred in each month so I can graph it. I have the date in different variables (as a date(crash_datetime "MDYhm") and as separate varables as month, year, etc.).

Since there are mutiple crashes on any given day, I need to count the observation on a given month/year, but I have not been able to figure it out. My knowledge (and apparently researching ability) of egen, count, and dates is inadequate.

Any help or nudge in the right direction is much appreciated,

Caleb

I'm going to assume that each observation in your data set refers to a single crash.

Code:
    gen mdate = mofd(crash_datetime)
    format mdate %tm
    by mdate, sort: gen month_crash_count = _N
    Note: you could do this using your separate month and year variables instead of creating mdate, but it is almost always better in Stata to use the combined monthly-date variable--and you'll probably need the mdate variable for other things later in your analysis anyway.

Comment

That worked beautifully, though now I'm not sure how to graph it appropriately, since I now have a bunch of duplicates in both mdate and month_crash_count. What do you recommend?

Comment

After a little trial and error, I tried * twoway (line month_crash_count mdate)*. Is there a better way?

Comment

Welcome to Statalist.

I've browsed the forum and googled everything I could