No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drop variables if no entry for monthly dates within a year

Hello,

I am new to Stata. Can you please help me with the following issue: for different companies, which I labeled as id, I have different variables describing some stock characteristics.
    I would like to keep the companies that have data for the stock characteristics for every month within a year.
    The issue is that the data does not appear as missing, is just simply absent.
    For example, if we consider the year 2017, I have the following entries for the dates: date id
    31jan2017 1
    28feb2017 1
    31mar2017 1
    30apr2017 1
    31may2017 1
    30jun2017 1
    31jul2017 1
    31aug2017 1
    30sep2017 1
    31oct2017 1
    30nov2017 1
    31dec2017 1

and then data entries for other variables.
    How do I drop observations that have only 3 entries for the dates above, as opposed to 12, e.g. for id=2, I only have observations for 28feb2017, 30apr2017 and 30sep2017?

I thought about doing a bysort by id and date, i.e. bysort id (date): drop if
    but I don't know how to write the condition, as the data is not missing ., but simply not present.

Thank you for your help.

I am going to assume that your date variable is a numeric daily date, so that

Code:
    bysort id : egen in2017 = total(year(date) == 2017)
    counts observations in 2017 and so

Code:
    drop if in2017 == 3
    drops identifiers with just 3 such and

Code:
    keep if in2017 == 12
    does ... you guess.

If the latter is essentially your criterion, the previous command is not needed.

If you only have data for 2017 and no other years (which is not explicit) then

Code:
    bysort id : keep if _N == 12
    is sufficient.

Comment

Hi Nick,

Thank you so much for your answer.
      I have data for several years, and the missing data for some of the companies varies as well. In my example above, I considered just 3 possible data points.