No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to run mlogit for panel data

Dear guys:

I'm a graduate in China, my thesis is about to check the relation between 1000 people's salary and their transportation choices in 10 years.

Obviously it is a panel data, and I have conducted 7 kinds of transportation choices so it's also a mlogit model.

But there is no xtmlogit command in Stata, also I have checked the Stata journal before, I've read Klaus Pforr's <<femlogit—Implementation of the multinomial logit model with fixed effects
    >>.

However, as a beginner in this field, I found it hard for me to understand the do files and the data- they are too complicated for me

All I need to do is check the salary increase and its influence to the changes of choices of transportation. Could someone kindly provide me some easy methods? I'd be grateful!

Looking forward for your guys' reply!

Benjamin Wang

It doesn't get any easier than using -femlogit-. I can think of a much more complicated way to do it, but not an easier one.

Look: just pretend that -femlogit- were called -xtmlogit-. So -xtset- your data the way you would if there were an -xtmlogit- command. And then run -femlogit- just as if it were -xtmlogit- and you'll have your results.

Now, if by
    However, as a beginner in this field, I found it hard for me to understand the do files and the data- they are too complicated for me