Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using past stock return

Hi, i am supposed to use basic linear predictive regression model (shown below) to predict if the past return can be used to predict stock return. Data that i have provided is monthly stock price, dividends (12-month moving sums of dividends paid on the S&P 500 index).
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Skjermbilde.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	2.4 KB
ID:	1478873

I have tried executing following commands:
    gen return = (100*(Index[_n]-Index[_n-1]+(D12/12))) / Index[_n-1]
    gen lagreturn = return [_n-1]
    reg return lagreturn

I appreciate all help, as i'm new to statistic analysis. I can also provide more information and data if necessary.
    Last edited by Filip Pierzgalski; 15 Jan 2019, 03:54.

Everything that you have shown sounds about right.

Just make sure as you are doing this that

1. your data is appropriately sorted by your time variable.

2. And that you understand how these "12-month moving sums of dividends paid on the S&P 500 index" are calculated. You need to make sure that you are not using future information in your predictive regression. E.g., the D12 for period t must include only dividend from t and earlier. (Otherwise you introduce forward looking bias in your predictive regression.)

Comment

You'll increase your chances of a helpful answer by following the FAQ on asking questions - provide Stata code in code delimiters, readable Stata output, and sample data using dataex. It helps a lot if we understand your data structure, know exactly what your ran, exactly what Stata reported, and can replicate your problem. It isn't clear whether you are working on data from one firm or from a bunch of firms, and whether beta is assumed to be constant across firms.