Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• learning STATA

Hello All, I am a beginner and trying to learn STATA on my own, I have weak biostatistics background, I bough couple of books for biostatistics. but want to know what is the best approach to learn STATA? STATA manual is too big, is there a better way to learn STATA?

I don't give any link, on purpose.

At the very beginning, I found videos very useful. Both from StataCorp and from several universities: just look up on YouTube. The introductory videos will show you the differents parts of Stata and how to work with them. Actually I learned much with videos even before having any contact with the software.

I think the manual is not material you need to learn, but a place where you must know how to search and what kind of things you may find. Get acquainted with it. You will learn the most useful bits naturally. I use both the PDF files and the inline manual: the latter is more valuable when I want to quickly look up the help for a function. The former is better when you want to read everything in a section of the manual.

You will also want to look for Stata tutorials on Google. Again, several universities have good ones. The best is then to type the sample code in Stata while you read, and see the effect. Save the most interesting stuff to a do-file with comments of your own. When you are in doubt, try: you can hardly break anything.

You can also keep a list of the commands you need most, sorted by category (file input/output, regression...): with the name you can get the help immediately in Stata.Don't try to remember all the options, it's hopeless and useless: the manual is here for that.

Another very useful source: the forum. Read questions and answers, that will show you new ways to do things, or things you wouldn't even imagine are possible.

Oh, and by the way, it's Stata, not STATA. Some are very picky about it here.

Hope this helps

Jean-Claude Arbaut