No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Matching Data

Hi Everyone,

I’m very new to STATA and would really appreciate some help – please be as detailed as you can.

I have four datasets:

1) Annual CEO compensation data

2) Daily Share Price data

3) Quarterly Financial information

4) CEO characteristics

This would be an unbalanced panel.

What is the best way to match this data in order to run a regression?

Hi Chris and welcome to Statalist!

You've asked a pretty broad question, and a lot is going to depend on:
    (a) what you want the final dataset to look like and
    (b) what are the common identifiers across the various datasets (that you can use to match or merge on).

1) I presume (correct me if I'm wrong) that it will be fairly easy to match the CEO info in #1 and #4 (i.e. that there will be some CEO_id or firm_id (of the company they are CEO of) so that you can match individuals between the 2 datasets. If you have to match on name, and one has "Bill Gates" and the other "William Henry Gates III" (Bill Gates' full name), that is more difficult.

2) Do you have a way of matching the firm in #3 to the CEO?

3) Finally, if the daily financial data is from CRSP and the quarterly financial is from COMPUSTAT, then see the following links:

Comment

I doubt anybody can give you specific advice without seeing examples of each of the four data sets. At the general level, it is likely that the key will be the use of the -merge- command, but the details will depend on the organizatin of the data in each of the data sets. And it is possible some of the data sets will need extensive reworking to make them compatible before they can be -merge-d.