Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1:1 data merge fails - r(459) - despite no duplicates on the merge by variable pairs in either data set

Hello,
    I'm a STATA novice and am having trouble in the final stage of compiling a data set merging year*place_code crime data (3700 records) and year*place_code population data (4128 records):
    clear
    use "...placecountyyr_crimclr.dta" /*3700 recs*/
    merge 1:1 year place_code using "...placecountyyr_pop.dta"
    /*4128 recs*/
    I expected/hoped to get <=3700 year*place crime records matched to the corresponding year*place population records, discarding records from either source that could not be matched.
    But when I run the above code, I get this error message:
    (note: variable county_fips was int, now float to accommodate using data's values)
    (note: variable place_code was long, now double to accommodate using data's values)
    variables year place_code do not uniquely identify observations in the using data
    r(459)
    Yet when I run the following commands:
    use "...placecountyyr_crimclr.dta"
    duplicates list year place_code
    use "...placecountyyr_pop.dta"
    duplicates list year place_code
    ...I get the same message both times:
    Duplicates in terms of year place_code
    (0 observations are duplicates)
    That is, as I expected/designed, there is only 1 record for a given place and year, both in the crime and in the population data sets.
    And I know that there are many visual matches on various year*place_code combinations.

What am I misunderstanding?
    Are the on-the-fly variable type changes (e.g., "variable county_fips was int, now float to accommodate using data's values") maybe somehow related?

Thanks for any help!

- thomas

Last edited by Thomas Nephew; 16 Oct 2018, 00:32.

Ok, I'm seeing I didn't follow protocol in using dataex and so forth.