No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Time-varying country fixed effects

Hi all,

I'm new to Stata and I haven't been able to include time-varying country fixed effects (a dummy for each country-year pair). Also, I need to cluster errors at the Country_Year level. I have tried with the next piece of code

encode Country, gen (Countries)
    egen CountryD = group (Countries)
    egen YearD = group (Year)
    egen Country_Year = group (CountryD YearD)
    xtset Countries Country_Year
    xtline Y
    xtline Y , overlay

xtreg Y X1 X2 X3 X4 i.Country_Year, fe vce(cluster Country_Year)

The error message that I get after running it is "panels are not nested within clusters".
    Could you please tell me how to fix this problem? I'd really appreciate it.

I think what you actually want is:

Code:
    egen Country_Year = group (Country Year)
    xtset Country_Year 
    xtline Y
    xtline Y , overlay
    xtreg Y X1 X2 X3 X4, fe vce(cluster Country_Year)

Comment

Dear Clyde Schechter thank you very much for your answer. However, when I run it in this new way I get the error message "too few variables specified" under "xtline Y".

Basically I am doing a difference in difference analysis. My treatment group is given by a group of countries which passed legal reforms (in different points of time). So, I want to include time-varying country fixed effects (a dummy for each country-year pair) to control for unobservable differences. Thus, it is possible to exploit only the within country-year variation and control for all time-varying country-specific variables correlated to the passage of legal reforms. The aim of this is to avoid that unobserved omitted country-specific variables drive the results.

Could you please tell me which would be the best way to code this in Stata. Thank you very much!!

Comment

Sorry, it should be
        Code:
        xtline Y year