No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Panel data: clustering with countries and years

Dear Statalist users,

I am doing my master thesis on the effects of culture on Foreign Direct Investment (FDI). I am making use of panel data with a time span of 1995 - 2013 and 35 OECD members. I measure culture via three cultural dimensions (which are my explanatory variables): trust, individualism and hierarchy using data from World Value Surveys. These cultural dimensions are measured in percentages. I have a list control variables, including the time-invariant variables such as common border, distance, common language etc. My dependent variable is bilateral FDI flows, meaning I have two countries for 1 FDI value (host and source country). To specify the panel data I have generated a variable by grouping the the host and source countries using egen command and called it CountryI_J. So that my panel data is specified by xtset CountryI_J Year. Please note that CountryI_J variables has generated 1156 unique country-pair values.

After the feedback with my supervisor she has told me to make use of 2 models:
    1) Panel data with two-dimensional clustering (Year, Country)
    2) Fama Macbeth regression with Newey West standard errors using 3 lags.