Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cox regression: age as time-scale: how to set up data?

Hi everyone, I'm new to stata and I'm having trouble setting up my data for survival analyses.

Participants have up to 5 measurement waves. Let's say we have two variables that are measured at each wave: age and health. The event is death and we know their date of death (and thus the age at which they died).
    If you take this person for example: he was 55,3 when he entered the study and he was 65,1 when he died. So the event took place between wave 4 and 5. At which wave do I say he has the event? Or do I have my data set up all wrong?

I will use age as a time-scale for the Cox regression, but I'm not sure how/where to include the age of the event (or censoring, since censoring due to loss to follow-up also occurs in between waves).

Participants can enter the study at different ages.
    id wave age health status died
    1 1 55,3 0
    1 2 58,7 1
    1 3 61,3 1
    1 4 64,5 2
    1 5

Can anyone help me to set up my data?

Well, as far as I can see, the wave variable is irrelevant. Your failure event is death, and your time variable is age, and you know the actual age at which it occurs, regardless of whether that falls between waves or not. So your data needs to record a death event at age 65.1 It doesn't matter which wave you say that is, nor, for that matter whether you record a wave number for the event at all. The wave number will play no role in your analysis.