Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ***HELP*** Which is the easiest and quickest way to estimate effect size for xtmixed (both single and interaction effects)?

Dear stata listeners,

I would like to estimate the effect size of two terms and their interaction in a linear mixed model (while controlling for a set of 5 covariates). and I'm not a stata expert so, any kind of suggestion would be much appreciated.

The syntax for my model is:

xtmixed `var' cov1 cov2 cov3 cov4 cov5 group##sex || Site:

Both group and sex have two levels.

I need effects size (and CI) of:
    - group
    - sex
    - group by sex

Could you help me to find out the easiest way to get them?
    I checked out this:
    https://stats.idre.ucla.edu/stata/fa...ize-for-mixed/ but, honestly, I found it difficult to understand the procedure.

Also, I thought to estimate cohen's d using
    margins, over(group)
    margins, over(Sex)
    margins, over(group Sex)
    and estimating SD from SE, but I'm guessing this is NOT an efficient strategy, also not sure how to calculate the interaction term effect size in this way.

I'm a stata newbie so, any suggestion would be much appreciated.
    Thanks for your help
    Gloria

Last edited by Maria Gloria Rossetti; 09 May 2018, 03:50.

You are misusing statistical terminology and you are going to get yourself very confused. There is no such thing as "the" effect of group or sex in an interaction model. There are two effects of group (one for each sex) and two separate effects of sex (one for each group). As for the interaction term itself, it defines the difference between effects but it does not, itself have an "effect.".

Code:
    margins group#sex
    will give you the expected adjusted outcome in each combination of group and sex.

Code:
    margins sex, dydx(group)
    will show you the effect of group separately for each sex.

Code:
    margins group, dydx(sex)