No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'Not concave' message when running IRT 2PL model

Hello,

I am new to IRT and I am playing around with a dataset that I collected during my pilot study for my doctoral studies using a math test to assess young children. The dataset is small (n=83), the test has 36 items and answers are coded as 0/1. I understand that my sample size is very small, so I am using CTT (p level and item-test correlations) as my primary item analysis for this dataset. However, I want to check if the IRT analysis will give me similar results. My goal is to decide which test items to keep and to drop for my main study later this year.

I am using Stata/IC 15.1. I am learning about Stata's IRT commands from the Stata's Reference Manual - Release 15.

I ran the 1PL model just fine. But when I try to run the 2PL, the 'fitting full model' keeps running, and I get the 'not concave' message over and over again, until I stop it. The same happens when I select just a few items and try to run the model. Here it is the command that I ran: irt 2pl $qrt

What are the possible reasons for not being able to run the 2PL model with my dataset?

Thank you,
    Mariana

Mariana:
    welcome to this forum.
    The coding of your variables might be the problem: if only 0/1 values are available, the maximum likelihood machinery probably chokes on them.
    Kind regards,
    Carlo
    (Stata 18.0 SE)

Comment

Hi Carlo,

Many thanks for the swift reply!
      My understanding is that IRT can be used with binary data, so I didn't think that coding answers with 0/1 would be a problem. Would you have any suggestions on how I can address this?

Many thanks,
      Mariana

Comment

Mariana:
        add one variable at time and see when Stata starts choking on.
        Kind regards,
        Carlo
        (Stata 18.0 SE)

Comment