No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• array search loop using substr & r(109) mismatch error

Hi Statalist

I am new to STATA, but fortunately come with some syntax experience from previous programs and work.

My situation:
    I have a dataset which contains diagnostic codes. Each record (6000 records) can have up to 100 diagnosis codes. Each diagnosis code is set up as an individual variable (not by me, it is how the dataset came), ie diag01 diag 02…. I am setting up a do file where I want a loop to check through all of the diagnosis variable (diag01 – diag100) and check to see if certain diagnosis codes have been recorded.

Code:
    gen aAB100=0
    quietly forval i=1(1)100 {
    replace aAB100=1 if substr(Diag`i',1,5)=="AB100"
    }
    label variable aAB100 "Diagnosis"
    label define Diagnosis 1 "Yes" 0 "No"
    label values aAB100 Diagnosis

Output:
    I am receiving a r(109) mismatch error. I assume the error has to do with the string containing both letters and numbers, however can’t seem to get a straight answer by looking over manuals and discussion forums. Any advice on a better method would be appreciated. Interestingly aAB100 output does occur with correct results, so it appears that the error occurs at the end of everything.

Thank you
    Court

Some of your Diag* variables must be numeric to produce this error. Try this:
    Code:
    ds Diag*, has(type numeric)
    to find out which ones. Then, to make everything consistent, you should apply -tostring- to the numeric ones.

By the way, this whole thing would be easier if you had the data in long instead of wide layout.

Code:
    gen long obs_no = _n
    reshape long Diag, i(obs_no) j(_j)
    egen aAB100 = max(substr(Diag, 1, 5) == "AB100")