No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Logit with multiple (3+) fixed effects in context of dyadic data

Hi everyone,

I am studying group behaviour such as herding and the impact of these “biases” on the decision-making behaviour of individuals. My data set consists of 360 daily observations of investments made by individuals in firms (the same individual can invest in multiple firms -> not one-to-many but many-to-many). I extended the data set to not only include the realized investments (~24,000) but also unrealized ones representing potential alternative investments individuals decided not to pursue (~1,000,000).

My data looks as follows: I look at realized (tie = 1) and unrealized (tie = 0) investments made by investors (invest_id) into companies (name) that exhibit certain characteristics at t-1 such as the number of already committed investors (lag_inv_co~t). To restrict the sample size I randomly selected 5 unrealized ties for each realized one (as to prior literature).
    Click image for larger version

Name:	data.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	1415281

As I want to study effects such as herding, best measured with lagged variables, I want to control as best as possible for any unobserved time-invariant heterogeneity across firms (“name”) and investors (“invest_id”).

Naturally I thought of using two fixed effects on firm and investor-level, which is, though, very problematic in context of a logistic regression (incidental parameter problem: would be fine for the “name” FE as T> ~40, but for investor FE with T=6 this leads very likely to biased coefficients).