Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Merging two datasets with duplicates..help?

I have two datasets that match on street address for housing transactions. My master set has duplicate addresses for transactions that happened on the same parcel of land (I want to keep these duplicate observations). I have dropped the duplicates in the geo-spatial dataset (the one I want to match to the master) that contains the address of the parcel and some spatial data. The reason I dropped the duplicate addresses for the second dataset is because all I need is the spatial data for each address. I just need to get the spatial data on the second dataset (the spatial data is distance in feet from a particular landmark) to the master dataset, all while keeping the duplicate transaction observations on the master data.

I'm sorry if that seems rather vague or poorly explained. If you need clarification, let me know. As I am fairly new to Stata, if you have a suggestion, please make sure to fully explain the reasoning of your code; I would like to learn rather than just copy and paste.

Thanks!

The code is just
    Code:
    use master_data, clear
    merge m:1 parcel_address using second_dataset