No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Very simple question from a complete novice

Dear Colleagues

I am very new to both IRT and STATA, so please pardon the ignorance.

When performing IRT analysis with STATA using a Graded Response Model on a Sleep Problems scale (3 items) (see below), the program says that the log likelihood is not concave and that a discontinuous region was encountered. This model could not be fitted to the data, or graphs produced.

However, if the following models are applied, a solution is found and the graphs look “normal”.

Partial Credit Model

Generalised Partial Credit Model

Rating Scale Model.

Why is the GRM not working, and which of the alternative models is most suitable?

The questions and response options are:

In the past 3 months, how often have you:

1. Had trouble falling or staying asleep (R).

2. Woke up before you wanted to (R).

3. Woke up feeling refreshed.

The response options are: all of the time; most of the time; some of the time; a little of the time; and none of the time. Higher scores = greater sleep problems.

Thank you.
    Paul

First, I am more of an IRT novice than you are, as I have never used it even once. But I've been around Stata for a while, and I think that this problem is more generic than specific to IRT. I could be wrong about that, but we'll see.