Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Developing user-written package for inputing and outputing to excel

First off I want to thank stata list. I don't post here often, but I use posts from the stata list all the time. At my job we use XLS and CSV files a lot. There are many things we do that take several steps to do. Often times these are tedious. I am looking into developing a set of ado files that would automate these task for our office as well as helping outside stata users. When researching these methods I have found multiple people on stata list, commenting on the stata blog, and other websites wishing some of these functions would exist. For all I know some of these things already exist I just couldn't find them in my search. I'd love some input and guidance as this is my first time doing something like this.

These are the commands that are on my to do list. Some I already have working and just need to be refined.
    • tabstat2xl, just like tab2xl except instead of exporting a tabulate to excel it exports a tabstat.
    • collapsetable2xl, often we will preserve a data set, collapse it it and export this as a table to excel before restoring it. This is especially useful if you want to have a table with more collumns than tabstat will allow.
    • ss, this would be like fs or ds. you could get a list of sheets in an xls or limit your search using wildcards
    • xlsmerge/csvmerge this would let you merge in an excel file or csv without loading it, saving it, opening the first dataset and merging in the temporary dataset
    One of the things I'm trying to take my time with and really think out is making sure the syntax is similar to commands that already excist to make it easy for users.

Any input is appreciated. I am also interested in good resources to make help files.
    Owner of StataTutor.com

Some of this functionality (especially the last bullet) can be found in Daniel Klein's -xls2dta- package available on SSC.