No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Selecting different time-periods OLS panel regression

Hello everybody,

This is my first time using both Stata and this forum so I'm a rookie regarding this program. I'm investigating certain variables pre, during and post economical crisis of 2007. For this I have a sample of around 2000 companies with 7 variables during 2005 until 2015. Now I have successfully ran an OLS Pooled Regression for the time period of 2005-2015 (All years). I wonder if there is a fast command to divide this in 3 time periods: 2005-2007, 2008-2011, 2012-2015. I thus need three OLS Pooled Regressions instead of one. I can of course manually prepare my data in excel separately for those three time periods, however I wonder if it is possible to do it in a quicker way through Stata.

Edit: After posting this question I forgot to tell that it might also be useful for my research to have OLS Pooled regressions for each year individually as well. Thus the same question but than individually per year. This means 10 individual OLS Regressions and 3 time-period OLS Regressions.

Thank you very much,

Vincent van der Stee
    Last edited by Vincent Stee; 13 May 2017, 09:55.

Welcome to Statalist, Vincent.

Yours is a very basic Stata question. I'm sympathetic to you as a new user of Stata - it's a lot to absorb. And even worse if perhaps you are under pressure to produce some output quickly. Nevertheless, I'd like to encourage you to take a step back from your immediate tasks.