No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Difference in differences regression?

Hi all,

I have two probably simple questions that I can't figure out, as I'm fairly new to DD models. I'm computing a relatively simple difference-in-differences regression model, where I have two control provinces and one treatment province. I have 22 years of data (7 pre, 3 during, and 12 post); it is uneven due to the policy interventions before mine that I am studying.

1) When I am including two control groups, do I simply code them as below (where 0 = both of the control provinces and 1 = the treatment province) – or do I have to separate them somehow? If it is the former case, how would I interpret the results of the control group, then? Obviously I am looking mainly at the interaction variable but I'm confused as to what "province" would tell me. Before doing this, I simply ran two different DD models (one with each different province as the control).

Code:
    reg outcome post##province, cluster(vce province)
    2) I would like to measure three time periods instead of two, as the policy in question was 'rolled out' over three years. Would it make sense to add in those 3 years in the regression, like the code example below? Or should I interact this time period with province as well (dur##province)?

Code:
    reg outcome post##province dur, cluster(vce province)
    Thank you in advance!

Well, it looks like you have longitudinal data here, so you should be using a panel-data estimator, not -regress-.

With a panel estimator, the whole issue of whether to treat the two control groups as one gets finessed.

Here's what I would do. First, you create a treatment variable that is coded 0 for both control provinces and 1 for the intervention province. Let's call that treatment. Next, you create a three-level time variable coded 0 for pre, 1 for during, and 2 for post. Let's call that era. Then you run:

Code:
    xtset province