No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to handle endogenous count variable in impact study

Hi,
    Let me first of all apologize for the "bump posting" I did earlier. I am new to the program and I am therefore asking for your forgiveness.
    I am conducting a research entitled "the impact of agricultural technology adoption on farm output in northern Ghana" and am using a cross sectional data. My Main objective is to determine the impact of agricultural technology adoption on output but my endogenous variable here is count (i.e. number of agricultural technologies adopted). My main challenge is how to correct for the endogeneity. Can I use Poisson or any count model in the first stage to predict the probabilities of adoption for the second stage?
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thank you.

It is best to use an estimator that is directly built for your problem. I think you can do this directly in GSEM and user-written CMP (not sure about CMP and count variables).

You probably can use a count model for the first stage (being sure to have some exogenous variables that do not appear in the second stage) and then an 2SLS estimator or some other estimator that takes care of endogeneity at the second stage. However, I'd think this gives you correct estimates of the standard errors.

Comment

GSEM is the way to go. It seems you have hierachical data which GSEM will be able to fit. Just thinking, is there any particular reason to treat '#of technologie adopted' as endogenous? Can't it be just another independent variable? In that case you can escape GSEM and fit normal single/multi-level regression models.
      Roman

Comment

Many thanks to Phil and Roman!!