No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kaplan Meier Survival

Hey,

I am doing a project where i need to assess the survival of Renal Cancer patients on/off a particular drug type. i am aware i need to do a Kaplan Meier analysis and have manipulated my data into three columns: censored (alive)/uncensored (Dead), days alive since diagnosis and group (on/off the drug). i have stata and have NO idea how to make the Kaplan-Meier curve. i have never used this software before and would dearly appreciate any help. i can upload the file if needs be.

thanks!

simon

See the [st] manual, in particular stset and sts graph

Comment

We definitely need to see your Stata data set to see how the data are set out. Don't upload it, though. Install the -dataex- command (-ssc install dataex-) if you don't already have it. And use that to post an example of your data.

Comment

Simon,

Christophe and Clyde give good advice. I will add the following general template:

Code:
        stset time, failure(censor==0)
        sts graph, by(group)
        where "time" is the name of your time variable, "censor" is the name of your censoring variable (assumed to be 1 if censored, 0 if uncensored), and "group" is the name of your treatment variable. Note that if your censoring variable is reverse coded (1 for uncensored/failed, 0 for censored/survived), you can use failure(censor), as the option assumes failure when the variable is equal to 1.

Other commands that you can use after stset include sts list (for a table of survival probabilities) and sts test (to test for differences between groups).

Regards,
        Joe

Comment

Simon:
          welcome to the list.
          As an aside to previous helpful advice, I would recommend you the following textbook: http://www.stata.com/bookstore/survi...-introduction/
          Kind regards,
          Carlo
          (Stata 15.1 SE)

Comment

Hi and thanks for both question and answers.