No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tranforming DOB into age

Hello guys,

I am so glad I found this forum, as I am new to work with STATA and I am struggling a lot right now. If anyone could help I would very much appreciate it.

QUESTION:

I am trying to analyse cohort data where total of 875 subjects were enrolled between September 2000 and June 2002, and followed-up continued until June 2004.

My aim is to investigate what is the effect of age on the outcome, however all I have is d.o.b variable. How do I transform it into age?
    I need to split the age into age groups of 0-1year, 1-2 years, 2-4 years.

I tried to use ***stsplit ageband, at(1,2)*** however, when I checked it out after by using ***tab ageband*** it gave me the total of 1369 episodes (but I only have 875 subjects!!! )

How is that possible? Am I missing something? Please help, I feel very helpless.

-stsplit- is not designed to do this task.

If really all you have is date of birth, you are out of luck: you also need the date as of which age is to be computed. That might be date of study enrollment, or if this is an observational study it might be the date at which the the person achieved the condition under study. Anyway, I'm going to assume you really do have both a date of birth and a reference date, and that you want the age as of reference date. I'm going to assume these variables are called birth_date and reference_date, respectively.

First, these need to be Stata internal numeric dates, not string variables that are read as dates by humans. If what you have are string variables (-des birth_date reference_date- will tell you), then you first need to convert them to Stata internal numeric dates using the -daily()- function. -help daily()-.

After that it's simple:

Code:
    gen age_in_years = (reference_date - birth_date)/365.25

gen age_group = 0 if age_in_years < 1
    replace age_group = 1 if age_in_years >= 1 & age_in_years < 2