Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Merging more than two datasets in Stata

Hello: I am a beginner in Stata, and currently working with NHANES data in Stata, my question is can you combine more than two data sets on stata? I tried to use the merge command and the "combine data" tab but seems to merge only two data sets.

any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    Hadeel

Hi Hadeel,

The 'merge' command should be used when the two databases have the same variables. If this is the case of its three or more databases, you can use the merge more than once. In the first you group databases "A" and "B" generating a database "C". Then you group data base "C" to the third data base (D), generating a new database, and so on.
    If, your databases do not have the same variables you should use the 'appending' command, following the same reasoning above to unite their three or more databases.

kind regards

Girlan Oliveira

Comment

Hadeel,

Let me make a small correction, the 'appending' command is that is used when the databases have the same variables and not the 'merge' command.

Comment

Hi Girlan:

Thank you for your response. Yes I think the merge is the command that you use when you have different variables as you merge on a certain "variable". Still I can't seem to merge more than two datasets.
        In the NHANES tutorial the command is simply "merge varlist using filename [, options]" and this would merge multiple datasets however whenever I enter I get an error message that this is an old syntax.

Thanks
        Hadeel

Comment

It is old syntax. Perhaps the NHANES tutorial goes back some years? I'm not familiar with it.

Anyway, before you do any merges you need to know what the merge key variable(s) is(are), and whether they uniquely identify observations in the data in memory, and also in the using data set. So if the key variables (varlist) uniquely identify the observations in both data sets it's

Code: