No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Importing several excel files and appending into 1 large excel file

Hi everyone,

I'm new to using Stata and was wondering how you go about importing several excel files and then appending them all together into 1 large excel file.

Thank you

So first you need to create the list of names of the files that you want to append together. How you do that depends on details of the filenames themselves and the directory structure in which they've contained. Since you haven't told us anything about that, I'll skip that part and just assume that you have already done that in a local macro called filenames.

From there the basic framework is a loop:

Code:
    clear
    tempfile building
    save `building', emptyok

foreach f of local filenames {
        import excel using `"`f'"'
        gen source = `"`f'"'
        display `"Appending `f'"'
        append using `building'
        save `"`building'"', replace
    }

export excel using 1_large_excel_file.xlsx, replace
    Note: If your Excel files are nicely cleaned and compatible with each other, this will be all you need. But Excel imposes very little structure on data. You may find that Stata balks along the way. For example, if a column in one of the files has string information but in another file the corresponding column is numeric, Stata will tell you of the incompatibility and will halt. If you run into those problems, then you have to add more code inside the loop to clean up each file as you go and impose order on the chaos.

Comment

Clyde Schechter Thank you for your response!! Greatly appreciated.

Apologies for the brevity of my post. Basically, the excel files include data for various years. An example file name would be "Data List - 1970.xlsx" and I have 37 years of such data (so 37 excel files). Would I have to take care of this prior to implementing the code you posted above?

Thank you once again.

Comment