Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generating a reference price measure as a probability weighted sum of past stock prices

Dear Statalist members,

I am trying to create a reference price measure that is an average of past 250 days stock prices, weighted by the probabilities of a stock not being traded since the date of the corresponding price:
    reference_pricet=(pricet-250*turnover_ratiot-250*(1-turnover_ratiot-249)*(1-turnover_ratiot-248)*...*(1-turnover_ratiot-1)+pricet-249*turnover_ratiot-249*(1-turnover_ratiot-248)*(1-turnover_ratiot-247)*...*(1-turnover_ratiot-1)+...+pricet-1*turnover_ratiot-1)/k, where k is a constant that ensure price weights add up to 1 (see the formula below).
    Click image for larger version

Name:	reference price formula.png
Views:	1
Size:	3.2 KB
ID:	1329147

I have written the following code, although as I am just a beginner in stata, it is far from optimized. Thus I would appreciate if you could give some tips on speeding up the code or even avoiding the loops, since with my fairly big data sample it takes quite some time to generate the variable. Attached I have enclosed a data sample for example.

Code:
    qui{
    nois _dots 0, title(Loop running) reps(100)
    bys id (date): gen float volr=vol/freefloat            // generating turnover ratio
    bys id (date): gen float rev_volr=1-volr            
    bys id (date): gen total_volr=sum(log(rev_volr))

forvalues i=250(-1)1 {
        bys id (date): gen ref_`i'=price[_n-`i']*vol[_n-`i']*exp(total_volr-total_volr[_n-`i'+1])
        nois _dots `i' 0
    }
    egen ref=rowtotal(ref_250-ref_1)

forvalues i=1/250 {
        drop ref_`i'
    }

forvalues i=250(-1)1 {
        bys id (date): gen k_`i'=vol[_n-`i']*exp(total_volr-total_volr[_n-`i'+1])
        nois _dots `i' 0
    }
    egen k=rowtotal(k_250-k_1)

forvalues i=1/250 {
        drop k_`i'
    }