Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting the variance of residuals in a rolling regression

Hello! I have a panel dataset with around 10000 companies and I want to perform rolling regressions while obtaining the variance of the residuals for each regression performed. I can't use the rolling command and e(rmse) as the regressions suffer from heteroscedasticity and as such rmse is not the standard deviation of the residuals.

I would like to do something like this:

First window:
    Reg Y X
    Calculate residuals
    Compute Standard Deviation of residuals
    Store result in "new variable" 1st cell

Second window:
    Reg Y X
    Calculate residuals
    Compute Standard Deviation of residuals
    Store result in "new variable" 2nd cell

And keep going like this.

I probably need to write this in code but unfortunately I have never coded in stata before.

Please help either by providing an alternative way of doing this (as it seems rolling cannot) or by helping me code it.

Thank you in advance!
    Last edited by Andre Sacras; 07 Apr 2015, 19:58.

I think you can still use -rolling-, you just have to write a program that wraps your regression and residual calculations and returns the standard deviation of residuals. So it would be something like this:

Code:
    capture program drop my_regress
    program define my_regress, rclass
        syntax varlist [if]
        regress `varlist' `if'
        tempvar resid
        predict `resid' if e(sample), resid
        summ `resid'
        return scalar sdr = r(sd)
        exit
    end
    And then you can invoke that with something like:

Code:
    rolling sd_resid = r(sdr) ...: my_regress Y X