No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alternatives for Repeated Measures ANOVA

Dear Statalisters,

I am fairly new to STATA and I am currently working on a large dataset with around 500 variables and 450,000 observations. From this dataset, I need to extract two variables, let's say, X1 (N = ~450,000) which contains information on 1st test results and X2 (N = ~20,000) which contains information on 2nd (repeated) test results. I want to run an unadjusted Repeated Measures ANOVA using these two variables to estimate the standard error measurement, which equals to the square root of mean square residual (RMSE) from the ANOVA statistics. I had a look at STATA documentation on ANOVA ( http://www.stata.com/manuals13/ranova.pdf ), but from my understanding, it involves reshaping the data into a long format, which I think may not be effective, given the size of the dataset I have.

My question is: Is there any other alternatives to do this more efficiently? I was thinking of using perhaps MANOVA or linear regression, but is it possible to obtain the RMSE value equivalent to the one from repeated measures ANOVA output?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Ps: I am using STATA 13.0

You didn't get a quick answer. You'll increase your chances of a useful answer by following the FAQ on asking questions - provide Stata code in code delimiters, Stata output, and sample data using dataex.