No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• merging many data sets

Hi there,
    I am trying to merge 150 data sets and I realized my way of merging data is not efficient. I merge as follow:

use data1.dta, clear
    sort id
    save data1.dta, replace

use data2.dta, clear
    sort id
    save data2.dta, replace

merge 1:1 _n using data1.dta
    drop _merge
    sort id
    save merge1.dta, replace

use data3.dta, clear
    sort id
    save data3.dta, replace

merge 1:1 _n uisng merg1.dta
    drop _merge.dta
    sort id
    save merge2.dta, replace
    .so on ....I realized its not efficient way to merge data when you have large data set.

Then I tried to use to loop function, and I am fairly new in terms of using loop function and I tried to merge with first 10 data set and I some how failed to merge. Following is my syntax:

local data data1-data10
    foreach x of local data{
    use `x', clear
    sort id
    save `x'.dta, replace

merge 1:1 _n using `x'
    drop _merge
    save merge_all.dta

end

Above function does not merge at all. Your help will highly appreciated. Many thanks.

Originally posted by Ngawang Dendup View Post
    Hi there,
    I am trying to merge 150 data sets and I realized my way of merging data is not efficient. I merge as follow:

use data1.dta, clear
    sort id
    save data1.dta, replace

use data2.dta, clear
    sort id
    save data2.dta, replace

merge 1:1 _n using data1.dta
    drop _merge
    sort id
    save merge1.dta, replace

use data3.dta, clear
    sort id
    save data3.dta, replace

merge 1:1 _n uisng merg1.dta
    drop _merge.dta
    sort id
    save merge2.dta, replace
    .so on ....I realized its not efficient way to merge data when you have large data set.

Then I tried to use to loop function, and I am fairly new in terms of using loop function and I tried to merge with first 10 data set and I some how failed to merge. Following is my syntax:

local data data1-data10