Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looping and modifying a line row by row

Hello, I am new to Stata's syntax and cannot figure out the syntax to do what I would like:

Let's say that my chart looks like:

var1 var2 var3

1.3 4.5 3.3 (row 1)
    3.3 2.3 3.6 (row 2)
    4.5 1.1 2.2 (row 3)

I would like to run a command that I wrote but for all values except each row (that is, I would like to run my program with just row 2+3, 1+3, and 1+2 to give 3 different outputs).

I was wondering how I can make a for loop from say i= 1 to # of rows and within the for loop:

delete row[i]
    run the program, give output
    insert row[i]

I cannot seem to find anything online that seems to fit. Thank you very much!

Rather than delete and re-insert rows, why not just add an [if] option to your command's syntax? See
    Code:
    help syntax
    and
    Code:
    help mark
    as to how.

Then you could do something like
    Code:
    forvalues row = 1/`=_N' {
        mycommand if _n != `row'
    }
    Here's an example with a command that has such an [if] option for illustration:

.ÿsysuseÿauto
    (1978ÿAutomobileÿData)

.ÿkeepÿinÿ1/3
    (71ÿobservationsÿdeleted)

.ÿforvaluesÿrowÿ=ÿ1/`=_N'ÿ{
    ÿÿ2.ÿsummarizeÿpriceÿifÿ_nÿ!=ÿ`row'
    ÿÿ3.ÿ}

ÿÿÿÿVariableÿ|ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿObsÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿMeanÿÿÿÿStd.ÿDev.ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿMinÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿMax
    -------------+---------------------------------------------------------
    ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿpriceÿ|ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ2ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ4274ÿÿÿÿ671.7514ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ3799ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ4749

ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿpriceÿ|ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ2ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ3949ÿÿÿÿÿ212.132ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ3799ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ4099

ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿpriceÿ|ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ2ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ4424ÿÿÿÿ459.6194ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ4099ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ4749

Comment

Thank you. It is not applying to my code, because my command is using multiple variables at once. For example it is not only using price, it is taking into account other variables in the same row.

Comment