Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Calculating covariate means AFTER propensity score matching

Hi, I'm fairly new to Stata and am using version 13 for Windows. I have been conducting propensity score matching using teffects psmatch with nearest neighbour (1, 3 and 5). My question is hopefully fairly simple:

Prior to matching I have the means of my covariates, with and without treatment. To ensure the matching process was adequate, how can I obtain the means of my covariates with and without treatment AFTER matching? Furthermore, as I would like to conduct t-tests to ensure the means are not significantly different for each covariate, how I can obtain the standard deviation and number of observations for each covariate after matching?

Thanks for your help.
    Chris

Hi Chris,

One recommendation would be to use a hybrid approach: using -teffects psmatch- for the benefit of its improved standard errors (see here for more info) when you are estimating effect size, and use -psmatch2- for the easy way to display standardized differences pre- and post-matching.

An Example:
    Code:
    webuse cattaneo2
    logit mbsmoke i.mmarried c.mage c.medu c.nprenatal
    predict ps, pr

psmatch2 mbsmoke, outcome(bweight) p(ps) caliper(0.2) neighbor(1) noreplacement common

​pstest mmarried mage medu nprenatal, both treated(_treated) graph label
    psgraph, treated(_treated) pscore(_pscore) support(_support)
    The last two commands will give you some diagnostics about your matching. The -pstest- command in particular will give you the means of covariates, standardized differences, and reductions in bias after matching, which is what I think you are looking for. Also, the t-tests are included in its output.

Be sure to read the link I included above: further down on that page it is mentioned how to get your -teffects psmatch- and -psmatch2- commands to get the same output.

I hope this helps,

Phil

Comment