Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• r(2000) no observations when running a regression

First of all, I am new to Stata and trying to learn the basics. I am trying to run a simple regression on some data that I have. I have panel data which is set up with the company number as the panel variable and the YEAR variable as the time variable:

.xtset CONO YEAR, yearly
    panel variable: CONO (strongly balanced)
    time variable: YEAR, 1999 to 2012
    delta: 1 year

I want to regress a PRICE variable against 7 other variables. However, when I run the regression I get the following error:

. regress PRICE BV NI PPE1 PPE2 PPE3 PPE4 PPE5
    no observations
    r(2000);

The PRICE variable has 1553 observations, the independent variables have differing numbers of observations BV (1701), NI(1698) PPE1 (103), PPE2 (190), PPE3 (394), PPE4 (282), PPE5 (158).

I'm trying to understand what the problem is here and how to overcome it. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Hi,
    First of all, Remind you of the protocol in the Forum is to use your name and not (as in this case) a random sequence of numbers. Most people wouldnt not appreciate that. You can always ask to change your user name using the "Contact us" option.
    Second, While is true you have observations on all your variables, there is nothing that says that the information is complete for each observation. For example, in you regression you might have 103 observations with information on variable PEE1 and 190 completely different observations with information on PPE2. Since there is no common ground for all, Stata assumes there are no observations (with common information) available to run a regression.
    HTH
    Fernando

Comment

The error code 2000 may mean that one or more of your variables is string when numeric variables are needed. Here the problem is more likely to be that your data contain missing values.